TBR Recognition Award

Technician Branch Representatives (TBRs) are a vital part of the Committee on Technician Awareness & Development (CTAD). TBRs share technicians' activities, ideas, and suggestions; help them promote biomedical research on a local basis; provide them with professional opportunities and strategies; encourage them to participate in AALAS at a local and national level; and request technicians' articles for AALAS publications. In short, they provide a valuable connection between AALAS and technicians in the field.

The TBR who demonstrates outstanding performance above all others will be the winner of the AALAS TBR Recognition Award. The award consists of a complimentary AALAS National Meeting registration, a complimentary hotel room, plus an additional $150 in travel funds and reimbursement of airfare up to $500. To qualify, TBRs must meet the following criteria:

  • Be actively involved in the local AALAS branch
  • Encourage branch members to participate in AALAS at the branch and national level
  • Participate in the TBR Network
  • Be involved with the CTAD and its activities
  • Demonstrate a financial need

Nominations are accepted from any AALAS branch member, a member of the AALAS branch's board of directors or the district's CTAD representative. If you have a TBR in your branch who you feel has shown an exemplary job performance, please nominate him/her by using the TBR Recognition Award nomination form .  Sample Letter and nomination.

Deadline for nomination is July 1.

Past Winners

2014 Dotty Paquin New England Branch
2013Matthew TaylorMichigan Branch
2012Audry HarrisNorthern Rocky Mt. Branch
2011Verda DavisKentucky Branch
2010Jose EspinalNew Jersey Branch
2009Lisa PanchellaDelaware Valley Branch
2008Michael EtheridgeCentral Ohio Branch
2007Kathy LasterKentucky Branch
2006Ted PlemonsNational Capitol Area Branch
2005Jillann RawlinsOregon Branch

Jenny Arvizu

Tina Fay

Lori Weaver

Palms to Pines

Mile High Branch

Texas Branch


Jane Criswell

Barbara Dennis

Carolyn Guajardo

Arizona Branch

Louisiana Branch

San Diego Branch


Roland Anderson

Bonnie Lemos

Charlie Schmieder

Oregon Branch

Northern California Branch

Arkansas Branch

2001Margart PotterCentral Pennsylvania
2000Jamieson GreaverTexas Branch
1999Catherine LukeMichigan Branch